- Board Meetings
- Continuing Education
- Decision Pending and Opportunities for Public Participation
- Expert Witness Recruitment
- Filing a complaint with the BOP
- License Verification
Overview of Examination Process
The California Psychology Licensing Law requires all applicants to take and pass the national Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) and the California Psychology Supplemental Examination (CPSE). Both examinations are computer-administered and are available for qualified applicants continually at testing sites located throughout the state.
The EPPP is a 225 multiple-choice question computer administered examination. The pass point on the EPPP is a scaled score of 500. The EPPP is owned by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards. The EPPP is available for administration at Prometrics testing sites throughout North America. In California, applicants can take the EPPP once they have obtained a qualifying doctorate degree and completed at least 1500 hours of qualifying supervised professional experience. More information on the EPPP can be found at www.asppb.org.
The CPSE consists of 100 questions and 25 pretest (nonscored) questions, all multiple choice. The pretest questions will be presented randomly throughout the examination and will not be identified to the candidates. Candidates will have three hours to complete the examination. The CPSE is developed by the California Board of Psychology through the Office of Professional Examination Service of the Department of Consumer Affairs. The CPSE is available for administration at Psychological Services Inc. testing sites throughout the State of California. Applicants can take the CPSE once they have obtained a qualifying doctorate degree, completed all 3000 hours of qualifying supervised professional experience and have passed the EPPP. More information on the CPSE can be found on the board's web site at www.psychboard.ca.gov.
QUALIFICATIONS FOR WAIVER OF THE EPPP
Pursuant to section 1388.6 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, the EPPP and the CPSE will be waived if the applicant meets one or more of the criteria listed below, and has filed a complete application, met all current licensing requirements, paid all currently applicable fees, and not been subject to discipline, but these applicants will still be required to take and pass the California Psychology Laws and Ethics Examination (CPLEE). The CPLEE is a 40 question test, all multiple choice.
- A California-licensed psychologist who has been licensed for at least five years and has allowed his/her license to expire by not renewing the license for at least three years.
- An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who has been licensed in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for at least five years.
- An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who holds a Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) issued by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards.
- An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who is credentialed as a Health Service Provider in Psychology by the National Register of Health Service Providers in Psychology and has been licensed based on a doctoral degree in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum of five years.
- An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who is certified by the American Board of Professional Psychology has and has been licensed based on a doctoral degree in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum of five years.